Happy Birthday Dad!

Today is my Dad’s birthday and to celebrate I recently uploaded some of the only known footage of him playing live. It’s quite long but worth every second. I hope you enjoy it!

Incase you didn’t know, my Dad died in February 2005 as such this video is quite important as we don’t have any other stuff of him playing live. I have other videos of him but they are more personal. I like this one though as it is Dad being Dad and being smiley and happy and doing what he loved doing: Playing music and making people happy.

To say I miss him would be an understatement. I have nothing bad to say about my parents and love them both very much, which in this day and age seems to be very rare. I am very grateful to them for their time and care helping me grow up. I had a rough time at school and had a much happier time at home with my family. Though they all drive me mad I love them all dearly and don’t know what I’d do without them. Sadly I am without my father now and it is something I notice every day. I know he’s not the type to ever be forgotten, he had a profound effect on everyone he met and he is fondly remembered by everyone who knew him. He influenced me in every which way and helped me to have the courage of my convictions and taught me that only I can tell me what to do and how to do it and you should never presume to tell others, simply guide them if you think you can. Dad believed very much in understanding yourself to the best degree possible which, in turn, helps you understand how complex and different every other person on the planet is to each other and should be treated with the same care and consideration you give yourself. I frequently forget this, much too frequently, and when I do I can see Dad berating me. We had our fights and crossed words but when he died there was not a bit of resentment or bad blood between us. I know he went to the grave knowing how much we all loved him and how much he loved us.

I can’t speak for my siblings but he’s the best Dad I’ve ever known and just one of the best people and someone I try to live up to everyday. He remains an inspiration to me in all that he did but more than anything else he was my Pa and I could always do with a hug from my Pa.

Happy Birthday Dad.

Leave a Reply

