The Next Big Thing

Untitled-30

I’m not actually saying I’m the next Big Thing, this is a lovely post tagging idea started here which I have been tagged in by the wonderful Melissa Lee-Houghton. I basically have to answer a few questions about a book what I writ. So the tough part was picking which one to talk about… Decided it’s probably best to talk about my novel – Welcome The Pigz.

Where Did The Idea For The Book Come From?

Long story. My brother wrote the title on the fridge sixteen odd years ago (referenced in the book and on the cover) and the name stuck in my head. I originally had it as a Indiana Jones caper set in Egypt with Pot-Bellied pigs but then my Mum pointed out Pot-Bellys are a Vietnamese breed and not that old so I shelved it. I then saw the cover for a Irvine Welsh book called ‘E’, the cover of which had a man with a fridge magnet letter on his tongue. This set me on the idea of making it about drugs and the pigs being a hallucination. That was pretty much it.

What Genre Does Your Book It Fall Under?

Yeesh. Fiction is the best I can manage. I call it ‘An Existential Comedy Urban Thriller. With Pigs.’

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I picture actors/film characters when I write so have a fairly comprehensive idea. A younger Ewan McGregor as Bevan, I’d play Terry, the Voice of Russell Brand as Breeze, Sinead Moynihan as Emily, Gary Oldman as Professor Morris, Rafe Spall as Bob, Tom Hardy as Shades. There are other characters but I worry you may think I might be some sort of obsessive… *ahem*

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

A student takes drugs of a dubious origin and is asked by a dead Vietnamese Emperor to save the world, sending him on a bizarre adventure which may or may not be real. With Pigs.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

The first draft took a month. I know people say it should take you years but it was a couple of years ago when I was homeless and unemployed at the time so did nothing but write morning, noon and night for four weeks. Not like now of course, where I am homeless… and unemployed… *sniff*

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I was prompted to dig out the idea and start writing by my friend Amelia who was doing NaNoWriMo (much maligned by so-called professional writers but I have a lot of love for it) at the time and said I should join in. I started it but realised I was too far behind to catch up so shelved it again. I told my then girlfriend the plot premise and she flipped for it, it was at her encouragement I pick it back up again and finish it. Sadly it was immediately after we broke up when I had little to do and needed a distraction that I threw myself into writing it. I have written full length novels before but I was genuinely proud of this one and felt it had potential.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There are pigs in it! What more do you need? I would honestly say it isn’t like much else out there. When I was sending it off to agents/publishers etc, the response I got was a uniform “It’s great! We can’t sell it.” Which is a compliment in that I had clearly written something worthwhile but it wasn’t able to be easily categorised so couldn’t be easily marketed. So if you want to read something different that isn’t “Literary” Fiction I think you may like this.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

It is indeed self published and you can buy it right here by clicking the ‘Stuff You Can Keep’ link above or from Amazon right here!

Well that was nice! My five writers I want to answer these questions are:

David Hartley

Lorrie Hearts

Luke Kennard

Lesley Cookman

Adam Croft

One thought on “The Next Big Thing

Leave a Reply

