Time of my Life

IMG_6471.JPG

I got back from America a week ago.

I miss the hiss of white noise drowning out the clatter and clang of a bakery next door. I miss the disappearing horizon through a mist of wind blown sand. I miss a hug from a new friend and different person everyday. I miss the flatness and clean arrangement of the towns. I miss rotten apples on a window sill in opaque light. I miss looking up from my feet more than twice a day. I miss walking till my hips twitched when I finally sat down. I miss the scale. I miss how big everything was. I miss how big everyone’s ideas were, how big their hearts were and how big their generosity was. I miss feeling involved in something. I miss being part of a group. I miss looking into a sink full of dirty dishes and being shooed away. I miss aisles and aisles of alien produce and packaging. I miss Canada Dry. I miss sitting back and watching people interact without being ignored. I miss feeling like I was wanted somewhere. I miss smiling so often. I miss being amazed at every corner and being in awe nearly ever minute of the day. I miss forcing myself to be articulate. I miss being kissed. I miss feeling like I was having an impact on someone. I miss Fijit nosing me in the dark. I miss having something to do everyday, even when it was nothing. I miss watching people be so happy. I miss sand being fucking EVERYWHERE. I miss being silly. I miss the steam coming through the drains. I miss the golden hour when the sky became a grade and the lights came on and everything came to life. I miss the expectancy that hung in the air. I miss walking down 5th avenue arm in arm with two beautiful women. I miss the views. I miss the trees. I miss those goddamn noisy crickets. I miss getting in the wrong side of the car. I miss the Avenues that went for miles straight ahead like giant troughs of a tail-light stream. I miss not caring what time it was. I miss staring at piles of food bigger than my head. I miss holding a hand. I miss resting a head. I miss the smell of the river. I miss that fucking view from the Brooklyn bridge. I miss singing stupid songs along to youtube. I miss holding my phone at the ready 24/7 because anything could be around the next corner. I miss being in someone else’s Vines. I miss just trying out ideas. I miss being listened to like what I said matters. I miss hearing people dissect their thoughts and feelings instead of brushing them aside for later, private inspection. I miss people being forthright. I miss the friendliness of strangers. I miss their openness. I miss being exotic and new. I miss not being mocked as a way of formal greeting or “endearment”. I miss the guffaw. I miss the 8 year old in grown up body. I miss the wildman in a shabby garret. I miss the bubbling bear and his Goldilocks. I miss the BFG. I miss the steel woman. I miss the grown up tinkerbell. I miss the famous girl. I miss all the damn dogs. I miss people out. I miss my friends.

IMG_6522.JPG

I wish I’d said thank you more. I wish I’d had more money. I wish I could have treated people more. I wish I hadn’t got sick. I wish I wasn’t so grumpy. I wish I was more emotionally articulate. I wish I’d told everyone how grateful I was. I wish I could have repaid everyone. I wish people had realised how quick time was going to go. I wish I had spent longer with everyone. I wish I had finished that chocolate cake. I wish I had made a move. I wish I had held that hug just a second longer to let her know. I wish I had looked back. I wish I hadn’t got so grumpy when I couldn’t explain I wanted to spend more time with people or more time alone. I wish I was better in groups. I wish each party hadn’t taken so much out of me. I wish I could have explained how drained I was instead of walking out so I could go and cry on the beach. I wish I could have told them to stop being so fucking nice and understanding which was making me upset. I wish I could have told them how fragile I was without sounding like a prick. I wish I could have been stronger. I wish I could have endeared myself to more people. I wish I had been well enough to go on the ferris wheel. I wish smores had tasted better. I wish America had better chocolate. I wish I didn’t have to keep letting people pay for my whole damn trip. I wish I was a millionaire so I could do the same for everyone. I wish there was a way I could have bottled that night. I wish I could live by that river. I wish I had a bed like that one. I wish I could live those three days again. I wish I hadn’t freaked out and ran out of that cigar bar. I wish I had spent longer in the Farm House. I wish I had been there longer than a month. I wish I was more confident. I wish I could explain how much it all meant to me. I wish there had been a piano somewhere to play. I wish I’d stayed longer in the home without doors. I wish I didn’t have to write a stupid blog post in a list to tell them all how much I love them. I wish people could see what can be done if people give a shit. I wish people would stop decrying social media and start decrying humanity’s appalling attitude to its own species. I wish people would listen. I wish people took a broader look at the world. I wish we weren’t all so fucking stupid and self-centered. I wish we took care of one another like they all took care of me. I wish I was worth all of it. I wish I was still there. I wish.

I miss.

I wish…

IMG_7009.JPG

3 thoughts on “Time of my Life

  1. Well to me it sounds like you had a lovely time. Wanting and wishing for something means you hold it dear. I hope you get to visit again and maybe next time you’ll have a bit more say in what you want to do. It was awesome meeting you and I’m sorry American chocolate sucks. Don’t be a stranger.
    Love Dylan.

  2. I wish I had more time with you and I wish we had gotten to know each other better. I wish I had gone against my friend wanting to go home and went to hang out with you guys. If you had ever seriously considered moving to America, New York I assume, we’d seriously find a way to make that happen. It’s all up to you. That way you can be here with people that do nothing but love you because in all seriousness you are greatly loved and your friendship is appreciated. You really are an awesome guy and don’t give yourself enough credit. I also wish I had had more money to give you to ease the rest of your trip here. I still miss ya though. Give me a ring if you’re ever back here in America so I can see you again. Hopefully a little longer this time.

  3. Your trip sounds like it was a big experience for you. Perhaps you need to give yourself permission to soak it all in? Hopefully if there is a next time you can make more of it.

    University the first time around was too big an experience for me. I was also convinced I couldn’t spend any money without bankrupting myself. Anyway, I am doing the unthinkable and am paying to do it again part time with the Open University with the limited savings it took what felt like forever to work for. I will get a lot more out of it this time around because I have some level of expectation. I think we sometimes need to give ourselves permission to do things at our own pace or to leave out the things we don’t need altogether.

    “I wish people would stop decrying social media and start decrying humanity’s appalling attitude to its own species.” I think people can be very crushing at times and it can take a long time to see what is the difference between normal and healthy. Just because everyone puts up with a situation does not mean they should. It doesn’t help that we do have a lot of negativity in our everyday culture.

    I hope you have more opportunities to spend time in the States; it sounds like it was good for you.

Leave a Reply

